Heading into last week’s primary elections, we outlined four principal storylines we’d be watching as the results came in. Final official results, and the results of any recounts and contests, are still to come, but we have answers to all the questions we posed last week.

Fallen Incumbents? At least five incumbent legislators had been defeated in each primary cycle since 2002 save one, when only four fell (excluding runoffs). We mused that none might fall this year, though runoffs would be likely for several. Indeed, none fell outright, and six were forced into runoffs: Sen. Eddie Lucio Jr. (D-Brownsville) and Reps. Lorraine Birabil (D-Dallas), Harold Dutton (D-Houston), Anna Eastman (D-Houston), Dan Flynn (R-Van) and J.D. Sheffield (R-Gatesville).

However, an incumbent did fall, and it surprised just about everyone, including us.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC