HD108 (Lean Democratic): The campaign of Democratic challenger Joanna Cattanach released an internal poll showing her leading Rep. Morgan Meyer (R-Dallas), 48%-43%, which is within the poll’s large margin of error.

Presumptive Democratic nominee Joe Biden leads President Trump, 59%-36%, in the district, which was carried by Hillary Clinton by 6 points in 2016 and former U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-El Paso) by 15 points in 2018. Gov. Greg Abbott (R) won the district by 5.5 points in 2018, but Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R) lost it by 8 points, and Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton (R) lost it by 11 points.

The poll of 401 “likely 2020 general election voters” was in the field July 22-25. The stated margin of error is ±4.9%.

CD4 open (Safe Republican): Grassroots America We the People endorsed Aaron Harris, while taking a dig at Sen. Pat Fallon (R-Frisco), for the Republican nomination to replace former U.S. Rep. John Ratcliffe (R-Heath) on the ballot. Harris is the former executive director of Direct Action Texas, where he focused on voter roll integrity, and chief of staff for U.S. Rep. Lance Gooden (R-Terrell). In its endorsement letter, the group called out Fallon for his “refusal to participate” in an interview with a Republican county chair and for being “known for shopping around for higher office.”

Young Conservatives of Texas also endorsed Harris.

Precinct and county chairs in the district will meet Saturday to choose a new nominee, who will face Sherman IT professional Russell Foster (D) and Clarksville journalist Lou Antonelli (L) in the general election. An independent candidate may also be on the ballot if he qualifies by next week’s deadline, but his campaign’s Facebook page has not been updated since May 2018.

CD22 open (Toss Up): The National Republican Congressional Committee upgraded Fort Bend Co. Sheriff Troy Nehls (R) to a Young Gun, indicating he has “surpassed program benchmarks to establish a clear path to victory,” joining Genevieve Collins (CD32), Wesley Hunt (CD7) and Beth Van Duyne (CD24).

The group also named Ronny Jackson (CD13), August Pfluger (CD11) and former U.S. Rep. Pete Sessions (CD17) as Contenders, which are candidates running “mature and competitive” campaigns for seats “that appear favorable” for Republicans. They join Tony Gonzales II (CD23) in that level of candidates.

McKinney: The city council approved a special election for November 3 to recall council member La’Shadion Shemwell. He was elected from a single-member district, but the recall is citywide. The recall election was originally scheduled for May 2 but had to be postponed because of the pandemic.

 ©2020 Texas Election Source LLC