At least 17 Republican attorneys general and 106 Republican members of Congress have signed onto amicus briefs supporting Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton’s (R) lawsuit seeking to overturn the certified election results of four other states.

The signatories include 12 members of the Texas delegation: U.S. Reps. Kevin Brady (R-The Woodlands), Michael Burgess (R-Flower Mound), Michael Cloud (R-Victoria), Mike Conaway (R-Midland), Dan Crenshaw (R-Humble), Bill Flores (R-Bryan), Louie Gohmert (R-Tyler), Lance Gooden (R-Terrell), Kenny Marchant (R-Coppell), Randy Weber (R-Friendswood), Roger Williams (R-Austin) and Ron Wright (R-Arlington). U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R) agreed to President Trump’s personal request that he argue the cast before the Supreme Court.

U.S. Sen. John Cornyn (R) was not as supportive. A former state Supreme Court Justice and Attorney General told CNN’S Manu Raju that he “struggle[d] to understand the legal theory of it.” U.S. Rep. Chip Roy (R-Austin) tweeted that he supported pursuit of litigation where it may succeed but thought Paxton’s suit “itself represents a dangerous violation of federalism.”

SD30 special: Early voting continues for the December 19 special runoff election. Through yesterday (Wednesday), the first day of the in-person early voting period, just under 13K people had voted in person or by mail.

Meanwhile, Republican Party of Texas Chair Allen West directed the party’s general counsel to send a cease-and-desist letter to the Shelley Luther campaign “to stop using my image for campaign purposes.” In a statement, West wished Luther and Rep. Drew Springer (R-Muenster) “luck in their election and [I] look forward to working with the next State Senator.”

AGRIC: Comm. Sid Miller (R), in a fundraising letter titled “I’ve Been Thinking About My Future,” asked supporters whether he should run for re-election, seek higher office or “hang up my spurs and call it a day.” Miller tested positive for COVID-19 earlier this week.

Local Elections: Saturday is runoff Election Day for several local jurisdictions including Houston, El Paso, Baytown and Laredo. In Houston, voters in District B will finally get to choose a new council member as the long-delayed runoff between Cynthia Bailey and Tarsha Jackson. In El Paso, Mayor Dee Margo, a former Republican state representative, faces former Mayor Oscar Leeser. Incumbent council members Alexsandra Annello and Sam Morgan face challengers.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC