SD30 special (safe Republican): Early voting continues through Friday for the September 29 special election. Through yesterday (Tuesday), just under 29K people have voted in person or by mail.

HD67 (Toss Up): Democratic challenger Lorenzo Sanchez’s campaign released a new ad, “Fair Shot,” focusing on public education.

HD113 (Lean Democratic): The campaign of Republican challenger Will Douglas released a new ad, “Texas Together,” focusing on COVID-19 recovery.

The Dallas Morning News endorsed Rep. Rhetta Bowers (D-Rowlett).

HD114 (Likely Democratic): Republican challenger Luisa del Rosal’s campaign released a new ad, “Opportunity,” focusing on women’s health care.

The Dallas Morning News endorsed del Rosal over Rep. John Turner (D-Dallas).

HD135 (Lean Democratic): The Houston Chronicle endorsed Rep. Jon Rosenthal (D-Houston).

CD32 (Lean Democratic): The campaign of Republican challenger Genevieve Collins released a new ad, “Promise,” tying U.S. Rep. Colin Allred (D-Dallas) to U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.).

Early voting suit: A group of Republican Party activists and elected officials have petitioned the Texas Supreme Court to prevent Gov. Greg Abbott’s (R) early voting order from taking effect. Abbott extended the early voting period for the general election by one week. Early voting in person would begin October 13 under Abbott’s order instead of October 19 as provided by the Election Code.

Plaintiffs include state party chair Allen West, Conservative Republicans of Texas chair Steven Hotze, Agriculture Comm. Sid Miller (R) and seven lawmakers, although one has asked to be removed from the suit. Sen. Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels) said she did not agree to join the suit.

In July, Abbott also extended the period of time for voters to turn in their absentee ballots in person instead of by mail. The suit also seeks to overturn that extension.

Online Voter Registration: Complying with a federal judge’s order, the state updated its systems to enable a person updating their driver’s license online to register to vote.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC