Rep. Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville) announced he would not seek re-election.

“It is with sincere gratitude, yet a heavy heart, that I have decided that I will not seek re-election to the Texas House,” Lucio said in a statement. “It has been one of the greatest honors of my life.” Lucio was first elected in 2006 and re-elected seven times.

“I look forward to remaining very active in my community, our chamber of commerce, institutions of education and, most importantly, my daughter’s soon to be PTA,” he said.

Lucio becomes be the 14th House member elected to the 87th Legislature who will not be returning.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source