Rep. Lyle Larson (R-San Antonio) announced he would not seek re-election.

“We are humbled and honored to have represented you in the Texas House for over a decade,” Larson said in an email to supporters. “As a strong proponent of term limits, [I] will follow the limits we previously proposed.” Larson has filed several bills that would cap legislative service at 12 years. He was first elected in 2010 and has been re-elected five times.

He becomes be the 15th House member elected to the 87th Legislature who will not be returning. Reps. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton), Phil King (R-Weatherford), Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth), Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound) and James White (R-Hillister) are seeking other offices. Rep. Celia Israel (D-Austin) is exploring a run for mayor. Reps. Ben Leman (R-Iola), Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville), Jim Murphy (R-Houston), Chris Paddie (R-Marshall), Scott Sanford (R-McKinney) and John Turner (D-Dallas) are retiring. Former Rep. Jake Ellzey (R-Waxahachie) is now in Congress, and former Rep. Leo Pacheco (D-San Antonio) resigned.

So far, two senators are also not returning: Sen. Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway) is running for Land Commissioner, and Sen. Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) is retiring.

Former San Antonio council member Elisa Chan, who previously indicated she would seek the seat if Larson retired, announced her candidacy. Former Bexar Co. Dist. Atty. Nico LaHood – a Democrat while in office – is considering running as a Republican. San Antonio businessman and State Republican Executive Committee member Mark Dorazio previously established a campaign committee for the race, and San Antonio transport logistics business owner Adam Blanchard announced his intention to seek the seat as a Republican. Chris Fails, Larson’s 2018 primary challenger, said he would not seek the seat and instead endorsed Dorazio.

Texans for Lawsuit Reform PAC endorsed Blanchard.

HD50 open: Rep. James Talarico (D-Round Rock) announced he would “move back to HD50 – where I grew up – to run for the seat being vacated by my friend Rep. Israel.”

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC