Forty-four candidates filed declarations of intent to run as an independent for U.S. Senate, Congress, the Texas Senate and the Texas House by the December 9 deadline. This is down from the 68 who filed declarations for 2018 but still much higher than the 15 who filed declarations to run in 2016.

These candidates are not guaranteed a place on the general election ballot. Independents must obtain signatures from registered voters who did not vote in either party’s primary (and runoff, if applicable) or participate in any minor party’s nominating conventions. The deadline for independents to submit signatures is June 25. They may not start gathering signatures until after the primary election, or after the primary runoff if one is needed for the office they are seeking. In that case, they have approximately one month to gather the lesser of 500 signatures or 5% of all votes cast for governor in 2018 in the district. The U.S. Senate candidates need 83,435 signatures, which is 1% of the votes cast for governor in 2018.

Historically, few independents obtain sufficient signatures to become certified for the general election ballot. Eight (12%) independent candidates were certified for 2018, and just one (7%) was certified for 2016.

Our Crib Sheets have been updated to add any independents that we had not already included. We will add the Green Party’s candidates once we receive information about them.

Correction: In yesterday’s report, we erroneously gave CD11 candidate August Pfluger someone else’s first name. We have corrected the mistake and regret the error.

HD45: Texas Values Action endorsed Carrie Isaac for the Republican nomination to challenge Rep. Erin Zwiener (R-Driftwood).

HD106: Texas Values Action endorsed Rep. Jared Patterson (R-Frisco) for re-election.

HD128: Texas Values Action endorsed Rep. Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park) for re-election.

CD11 open: Rep. Andrew Murr (R-Junction) endorsed August Pfluger to succeed the retiring  Rep. Mike Conaway (R-Midland).

CD13 open: Texas Right to Life PAC endorsed Chris Ekstrom to succeed the retiring U.S. Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-Clarendon).

CD32: Dallas Co. Comm. J.J. Koch (R) endorsed Genevieve Collins for the Republican nomination to challenge U.S. Rep. Colin Allred (D-Dallas).

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC