HD118 special: As expected, Gov. Greg Abbott (R) ordered the special runoff election to coincide with the November 2 constitutional amendment and general elections. As with those elections, early voting will begin on October 18. While the election was not ordered until today, the campaign of former Rep. John Lujan (R-San Antonio) reportedly had that date in its campaign materials last week.

HD10: Rep.-elect Brian Harrison (R-Waxahachie) will be sworn in tomorrow (Tuesday) at 10 a.m. on the House floor.

HD76 open: Sugar Land software developer Sarah DeMerchant announced she would run for what would be an open Fort Bend Co. district under the plan advanced by the House Redistricting Committee. DeMerchant was the Democratic nominee for HD26 for the last three general elections, receiving 48% of the vote in 2020 and 2018 and 42% in 2016. In 2020, DeMerchant won the Democratic runoff over Sugar Land physician Suleman Lalani, who last week announced he would run for HD76.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC