We reported highlights of candidates’ 30-day-out campaign finance reports in another post. Our Crib Sheets have been fully updated.

RRC: Texans for Fiscal Responsibility/Empower Texans endorsed Comm. Ryan Sitton (R) for re-election.

HD76 open: El Paso Co. Sheriff Richard Wiles (D) endorsed Elisa Tamayo to succeed Rep. Cesar Blanco (D-El Paso), who is running for open SD29.

HD108: The Dallas Morning News endorsed Shawn Terry for the Democratic nomination to challenge Rep. Morgan Meyer (R-Dallas).

HD119 open: The San Antonio Express-News endorsed Jennifer Ramos for the Democratic nomination to succeed Rep. Roland Gutierrez (D-San Antonio), who is running for SD19.

Speaker PAC: The Texas Leads PAC, which was formed by Speaker Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton) to support Republican re-election efforts, contributed $15K each to Reps. Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park), Dan Flynn (R-Van), Geanie Morrison (R-Victoria), Chris Paddie (R-Marshall), Jared Patterson (R-Frisco), Dennis Paul (R-Webster) and Phil Stephenson (R-Wharton). All face primary opposition. Stephenson was one of the 10 Republican incumbents mentioned during a secretly recorded meeting with Michael Quinn Sullivan.

CD22 open: The campaign of Fort Bend Co. Sheriff Troy Nehls (R) released a new ad highlighting his record as sheriff and military service.

Meanwhile, U.S. Rep. Sylvia Garcia (D-Houston) endorsed Sri Preston Kulkarni for the Democratic nomination for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Pete Olson (R-Sugar Land).

CD30: The Dallas Morning News endorsed U.S. Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-Dallas) for renomination.

CD32: U.S. Rep. Lance Gooden (R-Terrell) endorsed Genevieve Collins for the Republican nomination to challenge U.S. Rep. Colin Allred (D-Dallas).

College Station: Joe Guerra Jr. narrowly missed winning a special council election outright with 49.4% of the vote and will meet Elizabeth Cunha (32%) in an April 18 runoff election. The winner will fill the unexpired term of council member Elianor Vessali, who is running for open CD17.

Houston: Visiting Judge Grant Dorfman ruled that Cynthia Bailey may remain on the ballot for the delayed Dist. B runoff election. Renee Jefferson-Smith, who finished third in the November election behind Bailey and Tarsha Jackson, filed suit seeking to have Bailey deemed ineligible because of a 2007 felony conviction. Dorfman declined to do so and ordered a May 2 runoff election. Jefferson-Smith could still appeal the ruling, which could further delay the runoff election. Meanwhile, incumbent Jerry Davis, who is challenging Rep. Harold Dutton (D-Houston) in HD142, is constitutionally bound to continue serving until a successor is elected. The runoff was originally scheduled for December 14.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC