Filing for the 2020 election continues through December 9. Our Crib Sheets have up-to-date filing status of the candidates we are tracking. At least 302 candidates have already filed.

SEN: Mansfield tax attorney John Castro established a campaign committee for a potential primary challenge of U.S. Sen. John Cornyn (R). Cleveland business owner and 2014 primary challenger Dwayne Stovall and Plano investment advisor Mark Yancey have already filed for the race.

GOV: Gov. Greg Abbott (R) was elected chair of the Republican Governors Assoc. for the 2020 election cycle.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC