As expected, Land Comm. George P. Bush (R) announced he would challenge Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton (R). At a campaign kickoff event in Austin, Bush called Paxton “a career politician” who has “brought way too much scandal and too little integrity to this office.”

But a video tweeted out by the campaign placed Bush’s focus on opposing “the liberal mob in Washington D.C., … the liberal elites and the media.” A longer version is linked below:

Without mentioning the incumbent, Bush said in the video, “We deserve an attorney general who will make us proud.”

Both candidates invoked former President Trump. Bush said he would seek Trump’s endorsement, and the campaign video includes footage of him shaking Trump’s hand at a rally. A Paxton campaign spokesman said he “has been and will continue to be the tip of the spear in protecting President Trump’s America First principles.” Trump has said he would make an endorsement in the race.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC