Former President Trump said he will issue an endorsement in “the not-so-distant future” between Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton (R) and Land Comm. George P. Bush (R). “I like them both very much,” Trump said in a statement.

Yesterday (Monday), Bush said on Instagram that it was “great to speak with President Trump to discuss the future of Texas.” He concluded by saying, “Big things coming soon!”

Bush endorsed Trump in August 2016, a few weeks after Paxton endorsed him. Paxton previously supported U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R) for the Republican presidential nomination while Bush supported his father Jeb Bush. Paxton filed the principal lawsuit seeking to overturn several other states’ elections, and he spoke at the January 6 rally that preceded the riot at the U.S. Capitol.

Paxton was unopposed in the 2018 Republican primary while Bush received 58% of the vote against three challengers, including former Land Comm. Jerry Patterson (R).

Early voting continues in jurisdictions holding June 5 runoff elections.

GOV: Former Sen. Don Huffines (R-Dallas) released a list of around 500 endorsements with identifications such as “conservative leader,” “grassroots activist” and “proud patriot.” The list includes former Reps. Matt Rinaldi (R-Irving), David Simpson (R-Longview) and Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford) and former Austin council member Don Zimmerman.

Congressional Targets: EMILY’s List unveiled its first wave of targeted congressional seats, including six in Texas:

  • CD2, currently held by U.S. Rep. Dan Crenshaw (R-Houston)
  • CD3, currently held by U.S. Rep. Van Taylor (R-Plano)
  • CD10, currently held by U.S. Rep. Michael McCaul (R-Austin)
  • CD22, currently held by U.S. Rep. Troy Nehls (R-Richmond)
  • CD23, currently held by U.S. Rep. Tony Gonzales (R-San Antonio); and
  • CD24, currently held by U.S. Rep. Beth Van Duyne (R-Irving).

These seats were among those targeted by national Democrats in the 2020 cycle. Democratic nominees lost those six seats by 13, 12, 7, 7, 4 and 1 percentage points, respectively.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC