Ahead of a previously scheduled Monday announcement, Sen. Royce West (D-Dallas) established a campaign committee to challenge U.S. Sen. John Cornyn (R). West’s seat is not up for re-election in 2020, so he will not have to give up his state Senate seat to pursue a federal Senate seat.

RRC: San Marcos river tour company owner Kelly Stone established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Comm. Ryan Sitton (R) as a Democrat.

HD67: Plano attorney Tom Adair established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Jeff Leach (R-Allen) as a Democrat. An active campaign treasurer list from the Ethics Commission shows him running for the 67th Judicial District, but that is in Tarrant Co. and his account type is listed as non-judicial, so this report would appear to be erroneous.

HD72: Rep. Drew Darby (R-San Angelo) announced he would seek re-election to an 8th term.

HD92: Fort Worth attorney Jeff Whitfield established a campaign committee for a potential run for the seat being vacated by Rep, Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford) as a Democrat.

Filing Period: Candidates can begin filing for offices on the November 5 general election ballot as early as tomorrow (Saturday), although most jurisdictions will not be open to accept applications until Monday. The filing deadline is August 19.

Edinburg: Mayor Richard Molina pleaded not guilty to 12 charges related to alleged voter fraud during his 2017 election, and his wife Dalia pleaded not guilty to three charges, during an arraignment presided over by visiting state District Judge Carlos Valdez.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC