Voter ID: U.S. District Judge Nelva Gonzales Ramos ordered parties in the ongoing Voter ID suit to file briefs by July 5 discussing “the propriety and nature of relief” entitled by the plaintiffs and reply briefs by July 17. The court will not hold any new hearings on the matter but would “consider the Texas Legislature’s passage of [Senate Bill] 5 to the extent that, on its face, may be relevant to issues regarding remedies.” Senate Bill 5 was adopted to conform the law to judicial rulings requiring the state to provide a means for people to vote who have a reasonable impediment to obtaining one of the required photo identifications. In April, Ramos ruled “a discriminatory purpose was at least one of the substantial or motivating factors behind passage” of the state’s Voter ID law.

Rep. Craig Goldman

Rep. Craig


To access this post you need a TX Elects Subscription.


FOR JUST $19.99 A MONTH OR $199.99 A YEAR