SEN: President Trump tweeted that he will come to Texas to support U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz’s (R) re-election, holding a rally in “the biggest stadium in Texas we can find.”

Meanwhile, the Cruz campaign released a video, “Showing the Bleep Up,” pointing out U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke’s (D-El Paso) use of profanity on the campaign trail.

CD21 open: Matt McCall, who lost the Republican runoff to Chip Roy, has endorsed Roy.

House Speaker: Rep. Drew Darby (R-San Angelo) filed paperwork with the Texas Ethics Commission establishing his candidacy for speaker. He is the fifth Republican and sixth member overall to enter the race, joining Reps. Travis Clardy (R-Nacogdoches), Eric Johnson (D-Dallas), Phil King (R-Weatherford), Tan Parker (R-Flower Mound) and John Zerwas (R-Richmond).

Write-in Candidates: The Secretary of State has certified six write-in candidates for congressional and legislative office:

  • Jeff Simmons for CD3 open
  • Phil Gray for CD5 open
  • Sam Williams for CD16 open
  • Johnathan Garza for CD29 open
  • Casey Littlejohn for HD109 open; and
  • Demetrius Walker for HD138.

This action finalizes the general election ballot. Our Crib Sheets reflect the final ballot certifications.

ED12 open: The Dallas Morning News endorsed Suzanne Smith (D).

©2018 Texas Election Source