HD116: Former Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer (D-San Antonio) may be gearing up, and securing the financial resources, to run for his former seat against Rep. Diana Arévalo (D-San Antonio). Arévalo defeated Martinez Fischer’s endorsed candidate Martin Golando and one other candidate in the 2016 Democratic primary. Martinez Fischer lost his challenge of Sen. Jose Menendez (D-San Antonio) in a rematch of a 2015 special runoff election. Martinez Fischer reported having less than $2K on hand as of June 30.

Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick

Lt. Gov.
Dan Patrick

LTGOV: Gov. Greg Abbott, 19 of the 20 Republican senators, U.S. Sens. John Cornyn and Ted Cruz and Texans for Fiscal Responsibility/Empower Texans endorsed Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R).

CCA8 open: Hispanic Republicans of Texas endorsed Judge Michelle Slaughter.

SD10: Annie’s List endorsed challenger Beverly Powell, who faces a contested Democratic primary in her bid to challenge Sen. Konni Burtion (R-Colleyville).

SD31: Primary challenger Victor Leal endorsed Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick for re-election and criticized incumbent Sen. Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) for being the only Republican senator to withhold his endorsement. Patrick and Leal use the same consultant: Houston-based Allen Blakemore.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

@2017 Texas Election Source LLC