Most of the incoming Texas Legislature is all but determined after last night’s primary runoffs settled the last remaining open nominations. Just four Senate candidates (out of 16) and 54 House candidates (out of 150) face an opponent from the other major political party. Counting members not on the ballot this year, 20 of the 31 Senators are unopposed, and a majority of the incoming House – 77 members – is unopposed.

Thus, a sea change is not expected (and not really possible) in either chamber, statewide leadership, the congressional delegation or the State Board of Education. Democrats have the most opportunities for incremental gains, and Republicans are poised to restore their unanimous lock on statewide offices. Texas’ lone competitive congressional seat is likely to be one of the most expensive races in the nation.

We break down the action, and inaction, by office below.

* denotes new member
** may not be general election nominee
Bold indicates competitive or potentially competitive race

Statewide Offices

Current Composition
26 Republicans, 1 Democrat

Democratic Party Opponent (6)

Christian*, Green, Guzman, Keasler, Lehrmann, Walker*

Minor Party/Independent Only (0)


Unopposed (0)


Not on the Ballot (20)

2018 – Abbott, Alcala, Brown, Bush, Craddick, Devine, Hegar, Hervey, Keller, Miller, Patrick, Paxton, Willett

2020 – Boyd, Hecht, Johnson, Newell, Richardson, Sitton, Yeary

Republican Party Opponent (1)


Minor Party/Independent Only (0)


Unopposed (0)


Not on the Ballot (0)



Current Composition
20 Republicans, 11 Democrats

Democratic Party Opponent (2)

Birdwell, Buckingham*

Minor Party/Independent Only (3)

Creighton, Kolkhorst, Nelson

Unopposed (3)

Hughes*, Perry, L. Taylor

Not on the Ballot (12)

2018 – Bettencourt, Burton, Campbell, Estes, Hall, Hancock, Huffines, Huffman, Nichols, Schwertner, Seliger, V. Taylor

Republican Party Opponent (2)

Hinojosa, Uresti

Minor Party/Independent Only (4)

Garcia, Lucio, Menendez, Zaffirini

Unopposed (2)

Ellis**, Rodriguez

Not on the Ballot (3)

2018 – Watson, West, Whitmire

House of Representatives

Current Composition
99 Republicans, 50 Democrats, 1 Vacancy (D)

Democratic Party Opponent (40)

R. Anderson, Burkett, Button, Capriglione, Clardy, Cosper*, Dale, S. Davis, Elkins, Faircloth, Galindo, Goldman, Holland*, Koop, Krause, Kuempel, Lambert*, Laubenberg, Leach, Lozano, Lujan*, Meyer, R. Miller, Murr, Pena, Rinaldi, Roberts*, Sanford, Schubert, Shaheen, Sheets, Simmons, Stephenson, Stickland, Stucky*, Swanson*, E. Thompson, Villalba, Workman, Zedler

Minor Party/Independent Only (12)

C. Anderson, Ashby, Bailes*, Cain*, Fallon, Geren, L. Gonzales, Huberty, Schofield, Straus, Tinderholt, Wray

Unopposed (47)

Bell, Biedermann*, Bohac, D. Bonnen, G. Bonnen, Burns, Burrows, Cook, Craddick, Cyrier, Darby, Dean*, Flynn, Frank, Frullo, Gooden, Hefner*, Hunter, Isaac, Kacal, Keough, K. King, P. King, Klick, Landgraf, Lang*, Larson, Metcalf, Morrison, Murphy, Oliverson*, Paddie, Parker, Paul, Phelan, Phillips, Price, Raney, Schaefer, Sheffield, Shine*, Smithee, Springer, VanDeaver, J. White, Wilson*, Zerwas

Republican Party Opponent (14)

Canales, Coleman, Collier, Y. Davis, Dukes, Giddings, Guerra, Israel, Moody, Reynolds, C. Turner, Vo, Wu

Minor Party/Independent Only (7)

Gervin-Hawkins*, Hinojosa*, Howard, E. Johnson, T. King, Raymond, E. Rodriguez

Unopposed (30)

Allen, Alonzo, Alvarado, Anchia, Arevalo*, Bernal, Blanco, Deshotel, Dutton, Farrar, M. Gonzalez, Guillen, Gutierrez, Hernandez, Herrero, J. Johnson*, Longoria, Lucio III, Martinez, Miles, Minjarez, Munoz, Nevarez, Oliveira, Ortega*, J. Rodriguez, Romero, Rose, S. Thompson, Walle

State Board of Education

Current Composition
10 Republicans, 5 Democrats

Democratic Party Opponent (4)

Bahorich, Ellis*, Maynard, Mercer

Minor Party/Independent Only (1)


Unopposed (2)

Malone, Rowley

Not on the Ballot (3)

2018 – Bradley, Hardy, Miller

Republican Party Opponent (0)


Minor Party/Independent Only (1)

G. Perez

Unopposed (0)


Not on the Ballot (4)

2018 – Allen, Beltran, Cortez, M. Perez


Current Composition
House: 25 Republicans, 11 Democrats
Senate: 2 Republicans, 0 Democrats

Democratic Party Opponent (17)

Barton, Burgess, Carter, Culberson, Farenthold, Flores, Gohmert, Granger, Hurd, Johnson, Marchant, McCaul, Olson, Poe, Smith, Weber, Williams

Minor Party/Independent Only (7)

Arrington*, Babin, Conaway, Hensarling, Ratcliffe, Sessions, Thornberry

Unopposed (1)


Not on the Ballot (2)

2018 – Cruz

2020 – Cornyn

Republican Party Opponent (9)

Cuellar, Doggett, Gonzalez*, A. Green, G. Green, Johnson, Lee, Veasey, Vela

Minor Party/Independent Only (2)

Castro, O’Rourke

Unopposed (0)


Not on the Ballot (0)


Click the link below for a printable PDF version of this report.

2016 General State of Play