The U.S. House of Representatives voted to impeach President Trump on the charge of incitement of insurrection in connection with last week’s sacking of the U.S. Capitol by a pro-Trump mob. Ten Republicans joined all 222 Democrats in voting to impeach Trump for an unprecedented second time. No Texas Republicans voted to impeach Trump. U.S. Rep. Kay Granger (R-Fort Worth), who recently tested positive for COVID-19, was one of four Republicans who did not vote. All 13 Democratic House members voted to impeach.

U.S. Reps. Dan Crenshaw (R-Houston) and Chip Roy (R-Austin) said in a joint statement that they “condemn the President for the words and actions which contributed to these events” but they opposed impeaching Trump, which “serves little purpose” and “charge[s] crimes that are lacking the requisite element of intent.”

In a statement, U.S. Rep. Michael McCaul (R-Austin) similarly “condemn[ed] the president’s rhetoric and his behavior” but impeachment sets a “bad precedent” because he doubted “the Founding Fathers envisioned impeachment taking place in one day.” McCaul’s chief objection appears to be the relatively short timing. Interestingly, he said, “I truly fear there may be more facts that come to light in the future that will put me on the wrong side of this debate.”

U.S. House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) yesterday (Tuesday) appointed U.S. Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-San Antonio) as an impeachment manager.