Sen. Larry Taylor (R-Friendswood) announced he will not seek re-election, and Rep. Mayes Middleton (R-Wallisville) announced he filed for the seat.

Taylor was first elected to the Senate in 2012 following five terms in the House.

“Having the privilege of representing my community in the legislature for nearly two decades has been the biggest honor of my life,” Taylor said in a statement. “However, public service also requires sacrifice. It is a major commitment of time away from family and friends.”

He becomes the fifth senator who has announced plans to not return for 2023. Sen. Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway) is running for Land Commissioner. Sens. Eddie Lucio Jr. (D-Brownsville), Jane Nelson (R-Flower Mound) and Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) are retiring. As of this writing, we have not seen confirmation or announcements that Sens. Carol Alvarado (D-Houston), Bob Hall (R-Edgewood), Nathan Johnson (D-Dallas), Jose Menendez (D-San Antonio), Charles Perry (R-Lubbock) or Beverly Powell (D-Burleson) have filed for re-election.

Middleton’s campaign website has been saying “Coming Soon” for several days, and he announced he filed for the seat within hours of Taylor’s retirement announcement. Middleton is serving his second term in the House after ousting former Rep. Wayne Faircloth (R-Galveston) in the 2018 Republican primary. Middleton’s ability to self-fund, as he did for that 2018 campaign, makes him a formidable early entrant into the race.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC