Filing for a place on the 2018 continues until 6 p.m. local time on Monday. So far, at least 377 candidates have filed for statewide, legislative and board of education offices, and at least 167 have filed to represent Texas in Congress. This means about 30% of all candidates we have been tracking to date have not yet filed. Please see our Crib Sheets for candidates’ filing status. Incumbents who, as far as we can tell, have not yet filed for re-election include:

  • Congress – Joaquin Castro
  • Statewide – Judge Barbara Hervey and Presiding Judge Sharon Keller
  • Senate – none
  • House Republicans – none
  • House Democrats – Carol Alvarado, Diego Bernal*, Dawnna Dukes and Ron Reynolds*
  • Board of Education – Erika Beltran

Some of these officeholders may have filed and we simply could not find any confirmation of those filings. An asterisk indicates the incumbent has confirmed to us that he or she will file. The list excludes incumbents who have announced plans to retire or seek another office.

To access this post you need a TX Elects Subscription.


FOR JUST $19.99 A MONTH OR $199.99 A YEAR