Filing for a place on the 2018 continues until 6 p.m. local time on December 11. Please see our Crib Sheets for candidates’ filing status.

GOV: Houston resident Khis DeJean formed a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Gov. Greg Abbott (R). She campaigned for governor of Hawai’i as an independent in 2014 but was disqualified because of that state’s requirement that the governor and lieutenant governor be elected from the same political party. Based on that race, we expect she will run as an independent.

Comptroller Glenn Hegar

Comptroller Glenn Hegar

COMP: Comptroller Glenn Hegar (R) announced he would seek re-election.

HD33: Frisco resident Laura Gunn formed a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Justin Holland (R-Heath). We were unable to determine her occupation and political affiliation conclusively.

HD82: Rep. Tom Craddick (R-Midland), dean of the Texas House, filed for re-election for what would be a 26th term. His first term began in 1969.

HD115: Annie’s List endorsed challenger Julie Johnson for the Democratic nomination to face Rep. Matt Rinaldi (R-Irving).

HD121 open: San Antonio resident Celina Montoya and San Antonio political consultant and former council member Carlton Soules formed campaign committees for a potential run for the seat being vacated by Speaker Joe Straus (R-San Antonio). We previously reported that Soules had announced for the race and will run as a Republican. Montoya appears to be running as a Democrat.

HD126 open: Houston beauty products consultant Gail Stanart, a State Republican Executive Committee member and wife of Harris County Clerk Stan Stanart, formed a campaign committee for a potential run for the seat being vacated by Rep. Kevin Roberts (R-Houston). Houston attorney Kevin Fulton converted his judicial campaign committee for the race. Fulton lost a 2016 general election for district judge, 52%-48%, running as a Republican.

ED3: San Antonio historian Dan Arellano filed to challenge board member Marisa Perez-Diaz (D-Converse) in the primary.

Denton Co.: County Judge Mary Horn announced she would not seek re-election. Horn has served in the position since her 2002 election following nearly a decade as tax assessor-collector. She endorsed Co. Comm. Andy Eads to succeed her.

Brazoria: Mayor BobbyJo Newell has resigned, becoming the second member of the council to do so within a month.

Appointments: Gov. Greg Abbott appointed former Supreme Court Justice Scott Brister (R) and former Rep. Elvira Reyna (R-Mesquite) to the Texas Commission on School Finance.