The Texas Democratic Party and intervenor plaintiffs in the state lawsuit seeking expanded eligibility for absentee voting based on a lack of immunity to the novel coronavirus moved to dismiss the suit. Two weeks ago, the Texas Supreme Court ruled against expanded eligibility, siding with the state “that a lack of immunity to COVID-19 is not itself a ‘physical condition’ that renders a voter eligible to vote by mail within the meaning” of Section 82.002, Election Code.

A three-judge panel of the U.S. Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals ruled against the plaintiffs in an ongoing federal lawsuit last week. The panel unanimously concluded the district court erred in application of law and precedent when it ordered several county election administrators, and by extension all of them, to accept all applications to vote by mail because of COVID-19.

HD2: Texans for Fiscal Responsibility/Empower Texans endorsed challenger Bryan Slaton over Rep. Dan Flynn (R-Van) in the Republican runoff. The group endorsed Slaton for the 2016 and 2018 Republican primaries over Flynn but did not appear to endorse for this year’s primary.

HD25 open: Young Conservatives of Texas endorsed Angleton council member Cody Vasut in the Republican runoff over Brazoria Co. Tax Assessor-Collector Ro’Vin Garrett for the seat being vacated by Speaker Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton).

SEN: Everytown for Gun Safety PAC endorsed M.J. Hegar in the Democratic runoff over Sen. Royce West (D-Dallas) as part of its first round of U.S. Senate endorsements.

CD10: Former presidential candidate Bernie Sanders endorsed Mike Siegel in the Democratic runoff over Pritesh Gandhi.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC