Early voting for the November 3 general election begins in seven weeks.

SD30 special (Safe Republican): Rep. Drew Springer (R-Muenster) has been endorsed by at least 29 of his Republican colleagues, including Texas Freedom Caucus members Briscoe Cain (R-Deer Park), Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth), Mayes Middleton (R-Wallisville), Matt Shaheen (R-Plano) and Bill Zedler (R-Arlington).

Meanwhile, Denton Mayor Chris Watts submitted his resignation, effective Thursday. His term was originally supposed to end in May, but the city’s elections were postponed to November in response to COVID-19. Watts has established a campaign committee for the Senate seat being vacated by Sen. Pat Fallon (R-Prosper).

HD47 (Lean Democratic): District Judge Margret Mirabal (D) has dismissed Jennifer Fleck’s lawsuit contesting her 1,100-vote Republican runoff loss to Justin Berry.

HD65 (Lean Democratic): The National Federation of Independent Business endorsed Republican challenger Kronda Thimesch over Rep. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton).

CD23 open (Lean Democratic): The National Republican Campaign Committee promoted Tony Gonzales to its Young Guns roster following the conclusion of a recount of the Republican runoff. He joins Wesley Hunt (CD7), Fort Bend Co. Sheriff Troy Nehls (CD22), former Irving Mayor Beth Van Duyne (CD24) and Genevieve Collins (CD32).

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC