HD68 special: Rep. David Spiller (R-Jacksboro) was sworn in by Speaker Dade Phelan (R-Beaumont) during today’s (Tuesday’s) House session. Spiller won a special runoff election to fill the unexpired House term of Sen. Drew Springer (R-Muenster).

Filing Deadline: Friday is the last day a House of Senate bill or joint resolution may be filed without requesting permission from the respective chamber.

CD6 special: Former Gov. Rick Perry (R) endorsed Rep. Jake Ellzey (R-Waxahachie). Perry previously endorsed Ellzey during his 2018 run for this seat and his two races for the Texas House.

Brian Harrison’s (R) campaign announced he raised $400K in the week since declaring his candidacy.

CD21: Blanco rolloff business owner Michael “Smitty” Smith established a campaign committee to challenge U.S. Rep. Chip Roy (R-Austin) as a Democrat.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC