HD13 special election: Shoreacres municipal administrator David Stall and Sealy rancher Marc Young have withdrawn from the special election to fill the unexpired term of former Rep. Leighton Schubert (R-Caldwell). Neither qualified for the Republican runoff, receiving 14% and 6% of the vote, respectively. Their departures leave three candidates for the special election: Grimes County Judge Ben Leman (R), Carmine retiree Cecil Webster (D) and Bellville energy business owner Jill Wolfskill (R). Leman and Wolfskill will meet in the May 22 runoff, and Webster is the Democratic nominee. The special election will coincide with the May 5 uniform election.

SD6 (open): The campaign of Rep. Carol Alvarado (D-Houston) released a list of more than 150 endorsements (PDF), including three former Houston mayors and four legislative colleagues, in her bid to succeed Sen. Sylvia Garcia (D-Houston), the presumptive successor to U.S. Rep. Gene Green (D-Houston). Former Houston Mayors Lee Brown, Annise Parker and Bill White top the list alongside Reps. Harold Dutton (D-Houston), Jessica Farrar (D-Houston), Jarvis Johnson (D-Houston) and Gene Wu (D-Houston) and former Sen. and current Harris Co. Comm. Rodney Ellis (D). The list includes 44 Democratic precinct chairs. Also appearing on the list is Houston alcohol distributor John Nau. He is Gov. Greg Abbott’s (R) campaign treasurer, prompting a response from Empower Texans, which has questioned some of Nau’s past contributions and his commitment to conservative principles.

SD19: Alpine Mayor Andy Ramos endorsed Rep. Roland Gutierrez (D-San Antonio), who has announced plans to run for the seat currently held by Sen. Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio).

CD5 open: Sen. Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola) endorsed Bunni Pounds.

Orange Co.: A recount confirmed Orange City council member Theresa Beauchamp’s victory over Co. Comm. Barry Burton by 2 votes. Beauchamp led by 4 votes after all ballots were counted on Tuesday night. Election judges awarded Burton two more votes during the recount.

©2018 Texas Election Source LLC