Today (Friday) was the deadline for candidates to file for municipal, school board and other local offices on the May 4 uniform election ballot.

Dallas: Former Mayor Laura Miller filed to challenge P13 council member Jennifer Staubach Gates, who ran unopposed in 2015 and 2017. Twelve candidates filed to succeed term-limited Mayor Mike Rawlings, the largest candidate field since Miller declined to seek re-election in 2007. The field includes council member Scott Griggs, Rep. Eric Johnson (D-Dallas), Dallas ISD trustee Miguel Solis and former Rep. Jason Villalba (R-Dallas). The D8 race features a rematch between council member Tennell Atkins and former council member Erik Wilson. Two other former council members – Monica Alonzo and Tiffinni Young – are also seeking a return, joining Atkins and Miller, who was elected twice to the council prior to being elected mayor in 2002.

San Antonio: Sixty people – 20 fewer than in 2017 – filed for municipal offices, including nine for mayor. Incumbent Ron Nirenberg faces council member Greg Brockhouse and seven minor candidates, including Michael “Commander” Idrogo, who is making his 10th consecutive bid for the city’s highest office since 2001. All 10 council seats are contested.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC

No tags for this post.