Four-term Rep. Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale) announced she would challenge Sen. Bob Hall (R-Edgewood) in the Republican primary.

“Bob Hall’s heart is in the right place, but he’s not been effective in promoting the values we share,” Burkett said in an interview with the Dallas Morning News. “I have a history of showing I can get things done.”

Burkett was first elected in 2010 when she unseated former Rep. Robert Miklos (D-Mesquite), 52%-48%. She has been re-elected three times.

Sen. Bob Hall

Sen. Bob

Rep. Cindy Burkett

Rep. Cindy

Hall is serving his first term after ousting former Sen. Bob Deuell in the 2014 Republican primary runoff, 50.4%-49.6%. Hall finished second to Deuell in the three-way primary. Among HD113 voters, Hall won the runoff over Deuell, 55%-45%, after finishing second to Deuell in the primary (49%-36%). Within Burkett’s district, Hall gained 142 voters between the runoff and the primary while Deuell lost 514.

“Liberal forces have found an ally in Cindy Burkett,” Hall said in a statement, citing his rankings as one of the most conservative senators. “The contrast will be clear to the voters. We welcome the challenge.”

Just four sitting representatives have challenged incumbent senators seeking re-election since 2002, and only one, Sen. Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio), was successful.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.