SD14 special: Gov. Greg Abbott (R) ordered a July 14 special election to fill the unexpired term of Sen. Kirk Watson (D-Austin), who is resigning effective April 30. Abbott declined to set the election to coincide with the May 2 uniform election, citing the coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak. Candidates for the special election must file with the Secretary of State between April 29 and May 13. Early voting will begin June 29.

The election date enables any state candidate on the November ballot to run without risking losing their seat. Rep. Eddie Rodriguez (D-Austin) and former Travis County Judge Sarah Eckhardt (D) have announced for the race. Austin council member Greg Casar has formed a campaign committee for the race. Pflugerville council member Rudy Metayer, Austin attorney Adam Loewy and Austin attorney Chito Vela are considering the race.

HD47: Former Austin council member Don Zimmerman did not seek a recount after finishing one vote behind Justin Berry for second place in the Republican primary, and he endorsed Jennifer Fleck for the runoff.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC