Harker Heights council P3: Jackeline Soriano Fountain defeated former council member Pat Christ, 54%-46%, to fill the unexpired term of Spencer Smith, who ran unopposed for mayor in May. Christ received 43% and Fountain received 36% of the vote in the May 6 special election.

Sulphur Springs council P6 open: Dan Froneberger defeated Brad Burgin, 58%-42%. Froneberger received two more votes than Burgin in the May 6 election. They were forced into a runoff because a third candidate received a total of 9 votes.

Corpus Christi: Nineteen people filed applications for the city council seat vacated by Joe McComb when he won the special election for mayor. Among them were three of McComb’s rivals in the special election: public relations business owner Margareta Fratila, former gubernatorial candidate Ray Madrigal and engineer Larry White. Three former council members also applied. The council will choose its new member on June 20.

Republican Chair: The State Republican Executive Committee elected Travis Co. Republican Party Chair James Dickey as its new interim state chairman by one vote over Rick Figueroa, a Brenham party activist who was considered an ally of former chair Tom Mechler. Dickey will serve the remainder or Mechler’s unexpired term, which ends during the 2018 state convention. Several conservative leaders and groups including Texas Right to Life and Young Conservatives of Texas endorsed Dickey in the days leading up to today’s vote.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC