Early voting for the primary runoff election continues. As we noted yesterday, Republican turnout continues to lag behind 2012 and 2014, while Democratic turnout is ahead of both years. Absentee voting by mail continues to be the main driver of turnout so far. Friday is the last day to vote early.

Rep. Ron Reynolds

Rep. Ron Reynolds

HD27: Following a hearing last month, the Board of Disciplinary Appeals suspended the law license of Rep. Ron Reynolds (D-Missouri City) as he appeals a November conviction on five misdemeanor counts of barratry. Meanwhile, his runoff campaign finance report is still not available online, and Reynolds is facing $30K in fines from the Texas Ethics Commission for delinquent filing of campaign finance reports and a personal financial statement. It is the second highest fine total on the commission’s most recent delinquent filer list.

HD73: Gov. Greg Abbott appeared in a video for Rep. Doug Miller (R-New Braunfels) praising him for his leadership on border security.

HD128: State District Judge Brent Gamble ruled that a state law barring the use of legislatively produced video and audio in campaign advertising is likely unconstitutional, and he blocked its enforcement until the case, Cain v. Untermeyer, goes to trial in December. Briscoe Cain filed the suit last month. Cain posted on Facebook video footage of a House floor debate on an an amendment that would fund aircraft for border security.

Meanwhile, Gov. Greg Abbott appeared in an advertisement for Rep. Wayne Smith (R-Baytown) praising his military service and conservative leadership in the Legislature.

HD139: Houston Mayor Sylvester Turner endorsed Rep.-elect Jarvis Johnson. A photo posted on the Johnson campaign’s Facebook page indicates Sen. John Whitmire and Reps. Carol Alvarado, Harold Dutton, Ana Hernandez, Borris Miles, Ron Reynolds and Armando Walle also support Johnson.

ED9: Grassroots America-We The People rescinded its endorsement of Mary Lou Bruner.

Harris Co.: Sen. Rodney Ellis released a list of endorsements in his campaign to become the Democratic nominee for Harris Co. Commissioner, Precinct 1. Democratic precinct chairs will choose a new nominee to replace the late El Franco Lee, who was running unopposed for re-election, on June 25. Among those listed are U.S. Rep. Al Green, Sens. Sylvia Garcia and John Whitmire, eight current and four former representatives and former Houston Mayors Annise Parker and Bill White. Ellis is one of four people who have told the Harris Co. Democratic Party that they are running. The other three are interim Precinct 1 Comm. Gene Locke, 2015 at-large Houston council candidate Georgia Provost and Nathaniel West Sr. The Communications Workers of America is hosting a candidates forum on May 22.

Note: We try to report new endorsements only, but we are in a time where candidates publicize all their endorsers, so we may inadvertently report old news now and then.