Freshman Rep. Jeff Cason (R-Bedford) announced he will not seek re-election. Cason succeeded former Rep. Jonathan Stickland (R-Bedford), who did not seek re-election in 2020, in a competitive district, only to find himself drawn into a Likely D seat by his Republican colleagues to shore up other Tarrant Co. districts. In a redistricting cycle that saw Republican incumbents being drawn into friendlier districts, Cason was one of the only – and by far the most dramatically – Republican incumbent to be drawn into a less friendly district.

As it is currently configured, HD92 was trending bluer, moving from 4.8 points redder than the state as a whole in 2012 to 2.2 points bluer than the state in 2020. Nonetheless, Cason defeated Democrat Jeff Whitfield, 51%-47%, to win his lone term. Had its redrawn configuration been used in 2000, HD92 (Likely D) would have been 15.1 points bluer than the state – a shift of nearly 13 points.

“The new HD92 has now been turned solidly blue by GOP leadership, including Tarrant County Republicans Craig Goldman, Giovanni Capriglione and Stephanie Klick,” Cason said in a statement. “It doesn’t make sense to run in a dark blue Democrat district.”

Cason also ruled out running in adjacent open HD93 (Likely R). “I do not believe chasing a position by moving into a new community is the right thing to do,” he said.

Cason becomes the 26th House member and 31st legislator elected to the 87th Legislature who have announced plans to not seek re-election in 2022.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC