The Third Called Session of the 87th Texas Legislature convenes at noon tomorrow (Monday). Redistricting and a handful of other items are on Gov. Greg Abbott’s (R) proclamation (PDF) calling the session.

Sen. Joan Huffman (R-Houston) pre-filed Senate Bill 4, that chamber’s redistricting bill (See the map in DistrictViewer.). Broadly, the bill appears to strengthen several suburban Republican districts, exchanging precincts that have been moving steadily blue-ward for a decade for more reliable red precincts. For example, SD8 trades Democrat-leaning precincts in southwestern Collin Co. and north central Dallas Co. for considerably more Republican Hunt and Rains Cos. That district is currently held by Sen. Angela Paxton (R-McKinney).

One of the most significant impacts of the proposal is to make SD10, which is currently held by Sen. Beverly Powell (D-Burleson), considerably more Republican. In its current form, SD10 is entirely located within Tarrant Co. and includes the north side of Fort Worth. As proposed, SD10 would include much of southern Tarrant Co. and all of reliably Republican Johnson and Parker Cos.

The proposal would pair only two incumbents, one of whom is running for statewide office. Sens. Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway) and Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels) would be paired. The proposal would pit Campbell against former Austin council member Ellen Troxclair, who has been campaigning for what would be Buckingham’s open seat.

The proposal does not increase the number of Hispanic- or Black-majority districts, and at face value would appear capable of electing 19 Republicans, up one from the current 18-13 split.

Keep in mind that this is an introduced version of the redistricting bill – not the final version.

LTGOV: Grapevine conservative activist and former Texas Eagle Forum president Trayce Bradford established a campaign committee for a potential primary challenge of Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R).

HD38: Brownsville attorney Erin Gamez re-established her campaign committee for a potential primary rematch against Rep. Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville). Lucio defeated her, 54%-46%, in the 2020 Democratic primary.

HD70: Rep. Scott Sanford (R-McKinney) announced he would not seek re-election.

“In the midst of changing life seasons and a personal evaluation of priorities, I have made the prayerful decision to not file for re-election,” Sanford said in a statement. “It has been an honor to serve so many wonderful people for almost a decade.”

Prosper accountant Jim Herblin has previously established a campaign committee for the race.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC