Early voting continues in most jurisdictions holding June 10 runoff elections. A handful of jurisdictions, including Harker Heights and Sulphur Springs, are holding their runoff elections tomorrow (Saturday).

AG: Prosecutors have asked the Court of Criminal Appeals to throw out an appeals court ruling removing the judge presiding over Attorney General Ken Paxton’s criminal securities fraud trial, which has been delayed since being moved to Harris Co. from Collin Co.

Re-election Announcements: Several legislators announced or confirmed plans to seek re-election as the week ended, including Sens. Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls), Joan Huffman (R-Houston), Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville), Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) and John Whitmire (D-Houston). Rep. Four Price (R-Amarillo) announced his re-election campaign on the West Texas Drive radio program. Rep. Cesar Blanco (D-El Paso) announced he would seek re-election instead of pursuing a race for the open CD16.

Voter Fraud Investigation: The first warrant for arrest in the ongoing voter fraud investigation was issued Friday for a man who allegedly forged the signature of at least one voter after collecting a blank absentee ballot from the voter’s home. Prosecutors believe Miguel Hernandez assisted dozens of voters with their mail-in ballots. One of those voters picked him out of a police lineup.

Democratic Endorsements: The Texas Democratic Party endorsed three more candidates for the June 10 and June 17 runoff elections:

  • LaMarque – Casey MacAuliffe (DD)
  • Pearland – Dalia Kasseb (P7); and
  • San Antonio – Melissa Havrda (P6)

Six candidates previously endorsed by the party advanced to runoff elections: Tabassum Ahmad (Allen P2), Ann Bacchus (Plano P2), Lori Kirkpatrick (Dallas ISD D2), Marvin Sutton (Arlington D3), Felipe Villarreal (Pasadena DA) and Quentin Wiltz (Pearland Mayor).

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC