Slow reporting of numbers – early voting and Election Day – muddled some views that are normally clear much earlier in the evening, but we now have a fairly complete picture of the winners, losers and runoff participants. Vote percentages below are unofficial and as of 3 a.m. CT.

Comm. Ryan Sitton

Comm. Ryan

Only one statewide, legislative or congressional incumbent was defeated tonight, and it was not anyone on anyone’s radar screen. Railroad Comm. Ryan Sitton (R) shockingly lost to Robstown environmental remediator Jim Wright by a dozen percentage points despite out-raising him, $1.1M to $17K. Sitton reported having $2.2M on hand as of February 22.

U.S. Reps. Kay Granger (R-Fort Worth) and Henry Cuellar (D-Laredo) turned away spirited and well-funded challengers. Granger defeated conservative challenger Chris Putnam by around 17 points, while Cuellar narrowly turned aside his progressive challenger Jessica Cisneros by 3 points.

Six other incumbents were not as fortunate and ended up in runoffs.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC