CD2: Seven-term U.S. Rep. Ted Poe (R-Humble) announced he would not seek re-election. He is the fourth Republican incumbent from Texas to announce his retirement, joining U.S. Reps. Jeb Hensarling (R-Dallas), Sam Johnson (R-Plano) and Lamar Smith (R-San Antonio). U.S. Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-El Paso) is leaving his seat to challenge U.S. Sen. Ted Cruz (R).

HD8 open: Palestine real estate broker Cody Harris announced he would seek the Republican nomination for the seat being vacated by Rep. Byron Cook (R-Corsicana). Streetman business developer and college instructor Linda Timmerman is also considering a run for the Republican nomination. Former Gov. Rick Perry (R) appointed Timmerman to the Family and Protective Services Council in 2013. She is also a past president and board member of the Trinity River Authority. Meanwhile, the Thomas McNutt campaign released more local endorsements, bringing his list to 70 who have publicly endorsed him.

HD55: Rep. Hugh Shine (R-Temple) will kick off his re-election campaign Thursday in Temple.

CD5 open: Sen. Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola) announced he would remain in the Texas Senate and not seek the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Jeb Hensarling (R-Dallas). “I am confident that I can best serve in the Texas Senate,” Hughes said in a statement. “Now is not the time for me to leave.” Meanwhile, Rep. Brian Villalba (R-Dallas) endorsed former Rep. Kenneth Sheets (R-Mesquite) in a tweet.

CD11: Buchanan Dam physician William Betts established a campaign committee for a potential primary challenge of U.S. Rep. Mike Conaway (R-Midland).

CD21 open: Former Olmos Park council member Jeff Judson said in a press release that he was forming “an intensive exploratory effort” to assess the race to succeed the retiring U.S. Rep. Lamar Smith (R-San Antonio). Judson, a former Texas Public Policy Foundation president and unsuccessful 2016 Republican primary challenger to Speaker Joe Straus (R-San Antonio), said he would make a final decision “soon.” Judson had been considering running to succeed Straus, who is not also seeking re-election. Meanwhile, Tomball conservative media commentator Autry Pruitt updated his campaign committee to run for the seat being vacated by U.S. Rep. Lamar Smith (R-San Antonio) instead of challenging U.S. Rep. Kevin Brady (R-The Woodlands) in the CD8 Republican primary.

Round Rock: Commercial lender Hollis Bone, tech project manager Hilda Montgomery and printing business owner John Montgomery (no relation) filed for the December 17 special election to fill the unexpired term of council member Kris Whitfield, who resigned in September. Bone (42%) unsuccessfully sought the P1 council seat and Hilda Montgomery unsuccessfully ran for mayor (43%) in May. Early voting begins November 29.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC