Rep. Larry Philips (R-Sherman) announced he would not seek re-election. Phillips was first elected in 2002 and has not faced a primary challenger since 2006.

At least three Republicans have taken a formal step seeking his seat: former Sherman council member Kevin Couch, Van Alstyne engineer Brent Lawson and Grayson Co. Republican Party chair Reggie Smith.

Phillips is the sixth Republican – and fourth committee or subcommittee chair – to announce his or her decision not to seek re-election, joining Reps. Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale), Pat Fallon (R-Frisco), Larry Gonzales (R-Round Rock), Mark Keough (R-The Woodlands) and Jodie Laubenberg (R-Wylie). Burkett and Fallon have announced campaigns for SD2 and SD30, respectively, and Keough is running for county office.

Correction: Yesterday, we inadvertently described HD62 candidate Brent Lawson as a former Van Alstyne council member. He is an electrical engineer from Van Alstyne who unsuccessfully sought the Republican nomination for CD4 in 2014. We regret the error.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC