Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R) appointed 10 Republicans and seven Democrats to the 2021 Redistricting Committee. Sen. Joan Huffman (R-Houston) will serve as chair, and Sen. Chuy Hinojosa (D-McAllen) will be vice chair. The Republican members are Sens. Paul Bettencourt (R-Houston), Dawn Buckingham (R-Lakeway), Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels), Pete Flores (R-Pleasanton), Kelly Hancock (R-North Richland Hills), Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola), Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville), Angela Paxton (R-McKinney) and Charles Perry (R-Lubbock). Democrats on the panel are Sens. Carol Alvarado (D-Houston), Eddie Lucio Jr. (D-Brownsville), Jose Menendez (D-San Antonio), Kirk Watson (D-Austin), Royce West (D-Dallas) and John Whitmire (D-Houston).

Meanwhile, the House Redistricting Committee released a tentative schedule for 28 interim hearings around the state over a one-year period:

  • Austin, September 10
  • San Antonio, September 12
  • Fort Worth, October 9
  • Dallas, October 10
  • Houston, October 22 and 23
  • Corpus Christi, November 4
  • Rockport, November 5 (coincides with 2019 general election)
  • Edinburg, December 13
  • McAllen, December 14
  • El Paso, January 9 and 10, 2020
  • Collin County, January 21
  • Mid-cities within the D/FW Metroplex, January 22
  • Laredo, March 28 and 29
  • Amarillo, April 7
  • Marshall, April 15
  • Lufkin, April 16
  • Montgomery County, May 6
  • Fort Bend County, May 7
  • Beaumont, May 28
  • Galveston, May 29
  • Odessa, June 15
  • Midland, June 16
  • Brenham, June 24
  • Victoria, September 9
  • Austin, September 10

The scheduling memo indicates a “Final Lap” will be held after the 2020 general election.

The House Redistricting Committee was appointed during the legislative session by Speaker Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton). It is chaired by Rep. Phil King (R-Weatherford), and the vice chair is Rep. Chris Turner (D-Arlington). Reps. Sheryl Cole (D-Austin), Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth), Lyle Larson (R-San Antonio), Jeff Leach (R-Allen), Ben Leman (R-Iola), Ina Minjarez (D-San Antonio), Joe Moody (D-El Paso), Chris Paddie (R-Lufkin), Four Price (R-Lubbock), Toni Rose (D-Dallas), Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston), Armando Walle (D-Houston) and James White (R-Hilister).

The committee held two hearings during the legislative session to hear from invited expert witnesses and one hearing on legislation.

One of the key considerations will be the likelihood that Texas gains additional representation in Congress. Based on 2018 projections, Texas appears to be netting three U.S. House seats, which would give the state 39, second only to California.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC