One week remains for candidates to file for spots on the March 2020 primary ballot and minor party nominating conventions. See our Crib Sheets for candidates’ filing status.

There are 30 incumbents that we expect are seeking re-election for whom we have not seen a confirmation that they have filed:

  • Statewide: Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Kevin Yeary (R)
  • Senate: none
  • House: Reps. Kyle Biedermann (R-Fredericksburg), Garnet Coleman (D-Houston), Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont), Alex Dominguez (D-Brownsville), John Frullo (R-Lubbock), Ana Hernandez (D-Houston), Jarvis Johnson (D-Houston), Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth), Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville), Terry Meza (D-Irving), Ana-Maria Ramos (D-Richardson), Richard Raymond (D-Laredo), Matt Schaefer (R-Tyler), J.D. Sheffield (R-Gatesville), Carl Sherman (D-Dallas), Hugh Shine (R-Temple), James Talarico (D-Round Rock), Shawn Thierry (D-Houston) Armando Walle (D-Houston)
  • Congress: U.S. Reps. Colin Allred (D-Dallas), Jodey Arrington (R-Lubbock), Joaquin Castro (D-San Antonio), Dan Crenshaw (R-Houston), Lloyd Doggett (D-Austin), Lizzie Fletcher (D-Houston), Louie Gohmert (R-Tyler), Michael McCaul (R-Austin), Filemon Vela (D-Brownsville) and Ron Wright (R-Arlington).

Most of these incumbents serve districts entirely located within one county, raising the prospects that the county party has not reported their filings online or to the Secretary of State. We have seen far less information about filed candidates at the local level this year than in previous years. Only a handful of local parties are posting candidate lists, and the Republican Party of Texas is the only state party posting lists of filings (as far as we can tell).

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC