The filing deadline for a spot on the 2018 primary ballot has passed, but the candidate rosters are not yet finalized. The parties have until Tuesday to submit their final certified candidate lists to the Secretary of State.

CD27: The Republican Party of Texas has filed suit in federal court to have U.S. Rep. Blake Farenthold’s (R-Corpus Christi) name removed from the Republican primary ballot. Farenthold announced he would withdraw from the race, and subsequently filed paperwork withdrawing as a candidate, after the statutory deadline to be removed from the ballot. The suit claims the requirement to keep him on the ballot violates the party’s First Amendment rights to free speech and free association.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC