The deadline to file for a place on the 2018 ballot has passed. Attorney General Ken Paxton and Comptroller Glenn Hegar appear to have no primary challengers. Court of Criminal Appeals Judge Barbara Hervey filed today, but Supreme Court Justice Don Willett did not, as his U.S. Senate confirmation process has passed a critical step. The other retiree is State Board of Education member Erika Beltran (D-Dallas), who did not appear to file for re-election.

The following statewide elected officials and State Board of Education members have confirmed filed primary opponents:

  • Greg Abbott faces Larry SECEDE Kilgore and Barbara Krueger
  • Gov. Dan Patrick faces Rockwall public relations executive Scott Milder
  • Land Comm. George P. Bush faces former Land Comm. Jerry Patterson, Alvord surveyor Davey Edwards and Garland self-described Alamo historian Rick Range
  • Agriculture Comm. Sid Miller faces Austin attorney and lobbyist Trey Blocker and an individual named Jim Hogan
  • Railroad Comm. Christi Craddick faces San Antonio media strategist Weston Martinez
  • Court of Criminal Appeals Presiding Judge Sharon Keller faces longtime Court of Appeals Justice David Bridges; and
  • SBOE members Lawrence Allen Jr., Ruben Cortez Jr., Pat Hardy and Marisa Perez-Diaz.

Additional primary opponents may emerge, but it is highly unlikely because these offices’ candidates must file with the state parties, and they have seemingly reported all such filings.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report, which includes filings and news regarding GOV, LTGOV, LAND, AGRIC, RRC, ED2, ED4, ED11 and ED13.

©2017 Texas Election Source LLC