HD100 open: The Dallas Morning News’s Gromer Jeffers Jr. reported that “at least 11 people have expressed interest or have been mentioned as possible candidates” to succeed Rep. Eric Johnson (D-Dallas), who won the mayoral runoff on Saturday. Dallas attorney Lorraine Birabil, a former aide to U.S. Rep. Marc Veasey (D-Fort Worth), was the first to establish a campaign committee for the race. She released an endorsement list that includes Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins (D), Dallas Co. Comm. John Wiley Price (D), Veasey and Rep. Terry Meza (D-Irving).

Daniel Clayton, a business owner and former aide to Rep. Toni Rose (D-Dallas), has announced his intention to run, Jeffers reported. Others considering the race include nonprofit executive and pastor James Armstrong III; communications consultant Lucy Cain; Abel Mulugheta, a legislative aide for Rep. Rafael Anchia (D-Dallas); attorney Paul Stafford, who lost a 2014 race for HD115; and attorney and former city council candidate Dominique Torres. “Other potential candidates” include former city council member Sandra Crenshaw, who lost the 2018 Democratic primary for HD100 to Johnson; attorney Jasmine Crockett; Dallas council member Kevin Felder, who lost his re-election bid; and Dallas ISD board member Justin Henry, Jeffers reported.

A special election would likely coincide with the November constitutional amendment election, but Gov. Greg Abbott (R) could order an earlier date. Johnson has not yet resigned.

Early voting concludes tomorrow (Tuesday) in most jurisdictions holding runoff elections on June 15 and began today (Monday) in most jurisdictions holding runoff elections on June 22. On Saturday, we will once again have live results and analysis, focusing on runoffs in Abilene, Mount Pleasant and Orange.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC