Rep. Phil King (R-Weatherford) announced he would run for SD10 if it is redrawn as proposed by the Senate’s current redistricting plan, and he was promptly endorsed by Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R).

An amendment filed by Sen. Joan Huffman (R-Houston) to her redistricting bill would add portions of Parker Co. plus all of Brown, Callahan, Palo Pinto, Shackelford and Stephens Cos. to a portion of southern Tarrant Co. As drawn, the district, currently represented by Sen. Beverly Powell (D-Burleson), would be significantly friendlier to Republican candidates than it has been for the last decade. As it is currently configured, SD10 is located entirely within Tarrant Co., and it could be left in this configuration and still be within the acceptable difference from ideal population.

To access this post you need a TX Elects Subscription.


FOR JUST $19.99 A MONTH OR $199.99 A YEAR