Today (Tuesday) was the first of a string of Election Days for local jurisdictions where runoffs were required by charter or law.

Arlington: Incumbent Victoria Farrar-Myers easily defeated Antoine Lane, 82%-18%.

Coppell: John Jun won an open council seat, 60%-40%, over Jim Walker.

Copperas Cove: Vonya Hart defeated Terri Deans, 57%-43%, to win what became an open seat when council member Marc Payne failed to make a runoff, as did former council member Gary Kent.

Denton: Council member Gerard Hudspeth defeated council member Keely Briggs, 53%-47%, in the mayoral runoff, becoming the city’s first Black mayor. Council member Paul Metzler retained his seat, 53%-47%, over Jim Mann. Connie Baker won the special election for an unexpired council term, 60%-40%, over Ronnie Anderson.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC