HD25: Lake Jackson nurse Rhonda Seth established a campaign committee for a potential primary challenge of Speaker Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton). Seth made a small donation to Bonnen’s 2018 primary opponent, Damon Rambo, whose Facebook page continues to be highly critical of Bonnen but does indicate Rambo is running again in 2020.

HD93: Arlington atheism activist Nathaniel Walters established a campaign committee for a potential challenge of Rep. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth). We were unable to determine his political affiliation conclusively.

TBD: Kyle resident Chelsea Kendall-Meckel established a state campaign committee but did not indicate an office sought. Kyle is located within HD45, held by Rep. Erin Zwiener (D-Dripping Springs), and SD25, held by Sen. Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels), who is not up for re-election until 2022. Kendall-Meckel is the Hays Co. Libertarian Party chair.

GOV: Quinnipiac Univ.’s latest poll indicates 60% of Texas voters approve of Gov. Greg Abbott’s (R) job performance compared to 28% who disapprove. He is above water among every ethnic, age and gender group identified by the poll.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.

©2019 Texas Election Source LLC