Early voting for the March 1 primary begins Monday.

HD38 open (Safe D): Gov. Greg Abbott (R) ordered a May 7 special election to fill the unexpired term of Rep. Eddie Lucio III (D-XX), who resigned. Candidates must file by March 7. Early voting will begin on April 25 and end May 3. Anyone can run in the special election, which will fall between the March 1 primary and the May 24 runoff elections.

In this case, the runoff will not matter. Brownsville attorneys Erin Gamez (D) and Jonathan Gracia (D) are the only two candidates who filed for the general election. Because the filing deadline occurs after the primary election, the primary winner conceivably would not have to face their vanquished primary foe.

LTGOV (Lean R): Grassroots America We the People endorsed Trayce Bradford and Daniel Miller over Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R). Bradford is a former Texas Eagle Forum president. Miller is the head of the Texas Nationalist Movement.

AG (Lean R): The Dallas Morning News and Fort Worth Star-Telegram endorsed former Supreme Court Justice Eva Guzman (R) over Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton (R). The Morning News endorsed Joe Jaworski for the Democratic nomination. The Star-Telegram endorsed Rochelle Garza (D).

Subscribers can read the rest of this report,

©2022 Texas Election Source LLC