Tomorrow (Tuesday) is Election Day for HD120, and voters will elect a representative to serve the remainder of former Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon’s unexpired term. We will have live coverage beginning at 7 p.m.

Neither Democrat Lou Miller nor independent Laura Thompson are a major party’s nominee in the general election, so either faces a decidedly uphill climb to win a full term. Neither candidate has reported any contributions or expenditures since June 30.

Lou Miller


Laura Thompson


The election has exhibited very low in-person early voting turnout, and thus is likely to be determined by absentee voters who cast their ballots by mail. Many of these voters will receive their ballots by mail by virtue of voting absentee in the Democratic primary. If so, this would tend to boost Miller, the lone Democrat on the ballot. Thompson finished first among early voters in the special election, but Democratic candidates captured more than two-thirds of the vote.

The headwind Thompson faces from partisan voters in the runoff election is similar, but smaller, to the headwind she would face as an independent running against Democratic nominee Barbara Gervin-Hawkins in November.

Subscribers can read the rest of this report.