Former U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services official Brian Harrison (R) and former Rep. John Wray (R-Waxahachie) advanced to a runoff in tonight’s (Tuesday) special election for HD10. Buoyed by a strong Election Day performance, Harrison finished first with 41% of the vote. Wray, who led after early voting, finished second with 36% of the vote.

The runoff winner will serve the unexpired state House term of U.S. Rep. Jake Ellzey (R-Waxahachie), who was serving his first term after Wray opted not to seek re-election in 2020.

Pierina Otiniano, the lone Democrat in the race, finished third with 11% of the vote, followed by Republicans Kevin Griffin (8%) and Clark Wickliffe (3%). Independent Scott Goodwin (1%), Republican Susan Hayslip (<1%) and Libertarian Matt Savino (<1%) rounded out the field.

Wray led Harrison, 42%-37%, in early voting. Harrison won Election Day, 44%-29%.

Turnout was around 8.6% of registered voters.

The date for the runoff election has not yet been ordered by Gov. Greg Abbott (R).

AG: Former Chief Justices Wallace Jefferson (R) and Tom Philips (R), and former Supreme Court Justices Phil Johnson (R) and Harriet O’Neill (R), endorsed former Supreme Court Justice Eva Guzman (R) over Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton (R).

HD118 special: Former Rep. Leo Pacheco (D-San Antonio) endorsed Frank Ramirez (D) to succeed him.

©2021 Texas Election Source LLC