Harris Co. failed to include around 10K absentee ballots in its unofficial results and will release updated election results tomorrow (Tuesday), a week after the primary. The roughly 6K Democratic and 4K Republican ballots were scanned by election officials but were not included in the tabulations.

It is unclear if the additional ballots, which were cast legally, will impact any outcomes for either party.

At least two lawsuits have been filed against the county’s election administrator. The Harris Co. Republican Party sued for breach of contract, claiming the county did not fulfill its obligations to the party, calling the county’s handling of the primary “the worst election fiasco in Texas history.” The suit also alleges various Election Code violations. The second suit was filed on behalf of three candidates – two Republicans, one Democrat – running in the primary and alleges various acts of “arbitrary and disparate treatment” that diminished their constitutional rights.

HD38 special: Brownsville attorney Erin Gamez (D) appeared to be the sole candidate to file for the special election to fill the unexpired term of former Rep. Eddie Lucio III (D-Brownsville). She won the Democratic nomination for the seat, 58%-42%, and has no general election opposition.

HD147 special: Houston consultant Danielle Keys Bess (D) and Houston attorney Jolanda Jones (D) appeared to be the only candidates to file for the special election to fill the unexpired term of former Rep. Garnet Coleman (D-Houston). Jones and Bess advanced to a runoff for the Democratic nomination with 41% and 20% of the vote, respectively.

GOV (Likely R): Kelcy Warren, the executive chairman of Energy Transfer LP, has sued Beto O’Rourke (D) for defamation, slander and libel. The suit, which was filed in San Saba Co., alleges that O’Rourke made “deliberately false statements,” predominantly on social media, accusing Warren of “serious crimes including extortion, bribery and corrupt influence.”

Since 2010, Warren has contributed more than $2.8M to Gov. Greg Abbott’s (R) campaign, including a $1M contribution in June 2021 which the lawsuit says was a response to former Sen. Don Huffines’s (R-Dallas) entry into the race.

It is unclear if the lawsuit could be considered an in-kind campaign contribution and, if so, for whom.

LTGOV (Lean R): U.S. Reps. Colin Allred (D-Dallas), Lloyd Doggett (D-Austin), Veronica Escobar (D-El Paso) and Lizzie Fletcher (D-Houston) endorsed Mike Collier (D) over Rep. Michelle Beckley (D-Carrollton).

AG (Lean R): Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick (R) endorsed Atty. Gen. Ken Paxton (R), who faces Land Comm. George P. Bush (R) in the runoff.

HD93 open (Likely R): Rep. Matt Krause (R-Fort Worth) endorsed Nate Schatzline (R) to succeed him. Schatzline faces former Southlake Mayor Laura Hill in the runoff.

HD122 open (Likely R): Mark Cuthbert (R), who finished fourth in the primary with 12% of the vote, endorsed Mark Dorazio (R), who faces former San Antonio council member Elisa Chan (R) in the runoff.

CD28 (Lean D): Cassandra Garcia (R) was endorsed by former opponents Steve Fowler, Eric Hohman, Willie Vasquez Ng and Rolando Rodriguez. They finished fourth through seventh in the primary with a combined 45% of the vote. Garcia faces 2020 nominee Sandra Whitten (R) in the runoff.

©2022 Texas Election Source LLC