Tomorrow (Tuesday) is runoff Election Day in various local jurisdictions including Arlington, Coppell, Denton, Duncanville, Frisco, Haltom City, Irving, Keller, Mansfield, Odessa and Palmview. We will not be going live and will instead summarize key results afterward.

SD30 special: Combined Law Enforcement Associations of Texas endorsed Rep. Drew Springer (R-Muenster).

The campaign of Shelley Luther released a new ad accusing Springer of being a Chinese Communist sympathizer.

Early voting begins Wednesday.

House Speaker: The Texas House Republican Caucus endorsed Rep. Dade Phelan’s (R-Beaumont) bid for Speaker. Prior to their meeting this weekend, Phelan had already secured sufficient pledges, including a majority of the caucus, to succeed Speaker Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton), who did not seek re-election.

Republican Caucus: Rep. Jim Murphy (R-Houston) was elected chair of the caucus for the 87th Legislature. The caucus elected Rep. Tom Oliverson (R-Cypress) as vice-chair, Rep. Craig Goldman (R-Fort Worth) as treasurer and Rep. Candy Noble (R-Lucas) as secretary. Caucus chair Stephanie Klick (R-Fort Worth) did not seek re-election.

Austin: The Austin Police Assoc. PAC endorsed challengers Jennifer Virden over D6 incumbent Alison Alter and Mackenzie Kelly over D10 incumbent Jimmy Flannigan in the December 15 runoff elections.

Meanwhile, Sen. Dawn Buckingham (R-Lake Travis) called on Mayor Steve Adler to resign following revelations that he hosted an in-person wedding and traveled to Mexico while telling residents to refrain from gathering.

El Paso: The El Paso Times endorsed Mayor Dee Margo for the mayoral runoff election.

A candidate in the runoff for a municipal court seat has died of COVID-19. Lillian Biancas, an El Paso Co. magistrate, had been hospitalized since November 9. She finished first in the general election with 40% of the vote. If Biancas were to win the runoff election, the city council would appoint a replacement. Her runoff opponent is Enrique Holguin.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC