HD68 special: Cooke County Judge Jason Brinkley (R) announced he would seek the seat being vacated by Sen.-elect Drew Springer (R-Muenster). Brinkley’s announcement also served as his resignation, which was triggered by the constitutional resign-to-run provision. He was first elected to the post in 2014, having previously served as a Cooke Co. justice of the peace.

Court of Criminal Appeals: Gov. Greg Abbott (R) appointed Jesse McClure (R) to succeed former Judge Michael Keasler (R), who must resign December 31 to comply with the state’s mandatory retirement law. McClure intends to run for a full six-year term in 2022.

McAllen: Council member Omar Quintanilla announced he would seek a second term.

Electoral College: U.S. Reps. Brian Babin (R-Woodville), Louie Gohmert (R-Tyler), Lance Gooden (R-Terrell) and Randy Weber (R-Friendswood) are among 19 Republicans committing to “object to the electoral college vote submissions on the House floor” if demands for congressional hearings into “voter fraud and election theft” are not held before January 6.

©2020 Texas Election Source LLC